When I finished school in May, I made a promise to myself that I wouldn’t commit to anything until I was 100% certain that I wanted to do it, whatever “it” was. I had been over-committed for so long, I was ready to live a life with as little obligation as possible. I just wanted to experience being for awhile.

So, I’ve been out of school for six months, and I’ve made good on my promise. I haven’t committed myself to any long term endeavors, but I have picked up a new hobby.

hobby n. , pl. , -bies . An activity or interest pursued outside one’s regular occupation and engaged in primarily for pleasure.

Oh Man! Hobbies are grand things, especially that engaged in primarily for pleasure aspect.

I purchased an acoustic guitar for no other reason that it would give me pleasure to be able to play it. I’m not very good. It’s a lot of repetition and building strength in my hands, but I’m turning loose of perfection and just enjoying the process.

I get the occasional lesson from the resident musician, and Stacy and I practice together in the mornings before yoga. Mostly, I sit on my couch and play and sing for the dog and cat (because they don’t complain).

I recently bought a ukulele, but beyond that I don’t have any elaborate plans. I’m just going to keep doing strumming as long as I enjoy it, and we’ll see what happens next.

 

 

 

 

 

