Ha! So much for posting everyday in November.

Life with an infant is unpredictable and exhausting. When he naps, you squeeze in as much (laundry, sweeping, showering, yoga-ing, emailing, whatever) as you can or you sit on the couch and stare blankly at the TV or you nap…sometimes you might write a blog.

And then there are the days when he doesn’t nap or he only naps for 30 minutes. You just never know. Some folks have it (child rearing, napping and sleep specifically) down to an exact science, and I respect that, but it’s just not me. In fact, while I enjoy ritual and thrive under a modest amount of structure, one of my greatest joys since JR was born has been living in greater harmony with natural rhythms. I can probably count on one hand the number of times I’ve set an alarm clock this year!

I’m really fortunate to be in a place in life where I have both the resources and the support to maximize this time with my child. I wish every mother (or father) that wants to stay home or work part time were able to do so.

Here’s a picture of our cat and dog, because I’m tired and I don’t know where I’m going with this:

image

